For forty-seven years, the Heritage Foundation has recognized preservation projects and individuals who made significant contributions within the field of historic preservation. In 1974, the Williamson County Historical Society began recognizing the efforts of local preservationists with its “Architectural Awards.” By 1977, the awards program became a joint effort of the Society and the Heritage Foundation.  A decade later, the Heritage Foundation took on the Awards ceremony, transforming it into the Preservation Awards.

The Preservation Awards recognize rehabilitation, restoration, preservation and craftsmanship of residential and commercial structures that complement the historic character of Williamson County. The awards are based on preservation contributions by an individual, group or project to Williamson County. 

Today, the Heritage Foundation recognizes the best commercial and residential projects in four categories:

Excellence in Preservation through Rehabilitation:

Eligible projects nominated for this award are recognized projects that incorporate appropriate conservation and sustainable treatments to lesson a building’s impact, while preserving significant features that convey its historic significance or a project that make a compatible use of a building or structure through repairs, alterations, or additions, preserving key elements and features of the property that convey its historic value. All nominations in this category should focus on how new materials and design were integrated within the historic fabric of the building or structure to deem the project a success.

Excellence in Preservation through Restoration:

Eligible, nominated projects are for projects recognized for their exemplary restoration of a historic structure or building, retaining its integrity through well-documented research. An accurate restoration project depicts the form, features and characteristics of a historic building as it appeared during its period of significance. Restoration requires detailed, sensitive upgrading of any mechanical systems and adherence to current building codes required work to make the property or site functional today.

Excellence in Heritage Preservation:

Eligible nominations are recognized as a community or organization that actively demonstrates their stewardship and commitment to the preservation of their historic, cultural, and natural heritage: a greater knowledge of the nation’s past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

Outstanding Work by a Craftsperson:

Eligible nominees are recognized for their demonstrable high-quality work and exemplary understanding of the principles and practice of historic preservation techniques on a specific project. The nomination must include photographs of the work and descriptions of the obstacles faced by the craftsperson in performing the work, innovative techniques or materials used in the project, and the process involved in the work, including research where applicable.


Lifetime Preservation Achievement Award:

Ms. Thelma Battle, African-American historian of Williamson County

Excellence in Preservation Through Rehabilitation (Residential): 

402 Bridge Street, owned by Ryan and Laura Grant

Excellence in Preservation Through Rehabilitation (Commercial): 

412 Main Street, Stable Reserve

Excellence in Preservation Through Restoration:

Wyatt Hall, Dr. Benny and Mrs. Alex Woody

Excellence in Preservation Through Restoration of Material Culture:

Ms. Robanne Legan, Southall Meadows

Excellence in Craftsmanship:

Dr. Benny Woody

Excellence in Heritage Preservation:

Wyatt Hall, Dr. Benny and Mrs. Alex Woody


Excellence in Preservation Through Rehabilitation (Residential): 

Faup-Salazar Residence @ 1371 Columbia Avenue (nominated by 906 Architects) 

Excellence in Preservation Through Rehabilitation (Commercial): 

LeHew Mansion / Franklin Innovation Center (nominated by 906 Architects) 

Excellence in Infill in a Historic District:

502 11th Ave N., Hard Bargain Neighborhood Association 

Excellence in Preservation Through Restoration:

McLemore House, African American Heritage Society of Williamson County 

Excellence in Heritage Preservation:

Preservation Park Historical Panels, Town of Thompson’s Station


Preservation through Restoration:
David McEwen House — Owners: Vanderbilt Legends Club

Preservation Advocacy Award:
City of Brentwood Historic Commission for work saving the historic Owen-Primm House from demolition

Excellence in Infill in a Historic District:
Harpeth Square Mixed-Use development — Submitted by: 906 Architects

Heritage Preservation:
Downtown Franklin Rotary Club Headstone Cleaning Project — Downtown Franklin Rotary Club (organizer) with contributions and assistance from Morning and Noon Rotary Clubs


See the Full Story >


Preservation through Restoration
Slave Dwellings at Ravenswood Mansion –City of Brentwood

Preservation through Rehabilitation
Puckett’s of Leiper’s Fork — Rob and Shanel Robinson

Excellence in Infill in a Historic District
Renasant Bank, 815 Columbia Ave, Franklin, — Cyril Stewart, AIA

Stained Glass Restoration, Emmanuel Stained Glass Studio, Inc — Cornerstone Presbyterian, Franklin


Preservation through Rehabilitation (Residential)
501 Murfreesboro Rd
Architect Team: 906 Studio architects

Preservation through Rehabilitation (Commercial)
231 Public Square
Owners:  D9 Development, Heartland Partners & Crews Public Square
Architect Team: Studio 8 Design

231 Public Square
David Lovell, Lovell’s Masonry
Owners: D9 Development, Heartland Partners & Crews Public Square
Architect Team: Studio 8, Heartland Partners (General Contractor)

Preservation through Restoration
1919 Owen-Jones House
Owners: Tina and Roger Jones

Heritage Preservation
Hard Bargain Neighborhood Association

Preservation Perseverance Award (special recognition)
Morton-Brittain House
Nolensville Historical Association

Mary Pearce Legacy Award

Since 2017, the Mary Pearce Legacy Award is given during the Heritage Foundation’s Annual Meeting. The award is named in honor of one of the Foundation’s former executive directors. The award honorees are selected by the Heritage Foundation Board of Directors based on the individual’s ability to inspire others to make significant contributions to historic preservation.